This Week
8 events on our checked calendar in the next 7 days. Open the event finder.
It’s North CarolinaSearch

Great Smoky Mountains Railroad is a scenic train excursions in Bryson City, Swain County, in North Carolina's Smoky Mountains. Admission: from $63.72. Hours: Nantahala Gorge excursion: April 3 – October 31, 2026 (4.5 hours round trip, 1-hour layover); Steam Only: May 22 – December 31, 2026; The Polar Express: November 6, 2026 – January 3, 2027. Facts read from the official site on October 27, 2026.

  • HoursSee hoursofficial hours below
  • AdmissionFrom $63.72
  • WhereBryson CitySwain County, Smoky Mountains
  • DogsNot allowed
Good to know (read October 27, 2026): Pricing varies by season and by diesel or steam train. Coolers and picnic baskets are not allowed on board. Raft n' Rail children must weigh 60 lb or be 7 or older.

About Great Smoky Mountains Railroad

A heritage railroad running scenic round-trip excursions from the Bryson City depot, to the Nantahala Gorge or along the Tuckasegee River, some behind a restored steam locomotive.

  • Nantahala Gorge excursion: 44 miles, 4.5 hours, crosses the Fontana Trestle
  • One-hour layover at the Nantahala Outdoor Center
  • Steam locomotive 1702 built in 1942 for the U.S. Army Transportation Corps
  • Tuckasegee River excursion: 32-mile round trip through Cowee Tunnel to Dillsboro
  • The Polar Express runs Nov 6, 2026 – Jan 3, 2027

Size and length: Nantahala Gorge excursion 44 miles; Tuckasegee River excursion 32 miles round trip

Plan It in Three Lines

  1. Getting In

    Admission: from $63.72. Parking: Paid parking is across the street from the depot at 45 Mitchell Street, Bryson City.

    See hours
  2. Bring The Dog?

    Pets are not allowed on the train. Service animals (dogs trained under the ADA) are allowed; call (800) 872-4681 ahead of the trip. Day boarding for pets is available at…

    Full rule below

Great Smoky Mountains Railroad Hours

  • Nantahala Gorge excursion: April 3 – October 31, 2026 (4.5 hours round trip, 1-hour layover).
  • Steam Only: May 22 – December 31, 2026.
  • The Polar Express: November 6, 2026 – January 3, 2027.
  • Tuckasegee River excursion: select dates through March 31.
  • Arrive 60 minutes before departure; boarding begins 30 minutes before departure.

Hours source: official site, read October 27, 2026.

Admission and Parking

  • Nantahala Gorge, Coach Class diesel (all-in price, regular / October): adult $63.72 / $71.28; child 2-12 $47.52 / $52.92.
  • Nantahala Gorge, Coach Class steam (regular / October / peak): adult $74.52 / $82.08 / $86.40; child $58.32 / $63.72 / $69.12.
  • Coach Plus, Crown, Premium Open Air Gondola and First Class cost more (First Class diesel adult 21+ $123.12 regular); infants 0-23 months $0 in Coach/Coach Plus.
  • Headline fares on the tickets page: Nantahala Gorge starting at $63.72; Steam Only starting at $74.52; The Polar Express starting at $33.52.
  • Child ticket ages 2-12; adult 13+; infant 23 months and younger. Prices include the Historic Preservation Fee.

Parking: Paid parking is across the street from the depot at 45 Mitchell Street, Bryson City; limited handicap parking. Two-hour street parking is nearby but trips run longer. Parking price not stated.

Directions and Contact

  • Address: 45 Mitchell Street
  • Phone: 800-872-4681
  • Map point: 35.45279,-83.44338, from the US Census geocoder on the official address. Directions in Google Maps
  • Official site: gsmr.com

Dogs and Accessibility

  • Dogs: Pets are not allowed on the train. Service animals (dogs trained under the ADA) are allowed; call (800) 872-4681 ahead of the trip. Day boarding for pets is available at Cherokee Animal Care Clinic (per the FAQ).
  • Accessibility: Accommodations on vintage cars are limited. An open-air gondola has a hydraulic lift for wheelchair boarding and a wheelchair-accessible restroom; the lift may not be usable at the layover because terrain is not wheelchair accessible, and special event trains may lack the lift. Only one car has an accessible restroom. Call the reservations line to arrange.

Near Great Smoky Mountains Railroad

Coming Up in Bryson City

EventWhenWherePrice
The Polar Express Train Ride (Great Smoky Mountains Railroad) Our guideNov 5-Jan 3, 2027: not published (choose date/time at booking)Bryson City · Smoky MountainsCoach Class from $50.85 adult (13+), $33.52 child (2-12), $0.00 infant; more prices on the event page

From our checked events calendar, matched by venue name and town; times and tickets are on each organizer’s page.

Also see Smoky Mountains events.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Great Smoky Mountains Railroad cost?

From $63.72. Nantahala Gorge, Coach Class diesel (all-in price, regular / October): adult $63.72 / $71.28; child 2-12 $47.52 / $52.92.; Nantahala Gorge, Coach Class steam (regular / October / peak): adult $74.52 / $82.08 / $86.40; child $58.32 / $63.72 / $69.12.; Coach Plus, Crown, Premium Open Air Gondola and First Class cost more (First Class diesel adult 21+ $123.12 regular); infants 0-23 months $0 in Coach/Coach Plus.

What are the hours at Great Smoky Mountains Railroad?

Nantahala Gorge excursion: April 3 – October 31, 2026 (4.5 hours round trip, 1-hour layover).; Steam Only: May 22 – December 31, 2026..

Can I bring a dog to Great Smoky Mountains Railroad?

Pets are not allowed on the train. Service animals (dogs trained under the ADA) are allowed; call (800) 872-4681 ahead of the trip. Day boarding for pets is available at Cherokee Animal Care Clinic (per the FAQ).

What We Could Not Verify

  • Daily departure times were not in the page text (train schedule is a calendar widget).
  • Parking fee was not stated.
  • Some event dates on the tickets page are in the past (July 2026) so the page is partly stale; Nantahala Gorge season listed ends October 31, 2026.
  • Page says locomotive 722 restoration 'should be finished by early 2026'; current status not read.
  • Hours and prices change; check the official site the day you go.

Sources

  1. Great Smoky Mountains Railroad: hours (read 2026-10-27)
  2. Great Smoky Mountains Railroad: admission (read 2026-10-27)
  3. Great Smoky Mountains Railroad: official site (read 2026-10-27)
  4. OpenStreetMap (map point)

Last checked October 27, 2026 by the It’s North Carolina editor. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Cite this page: It's North Carolina, “Great Smoky Mountains Railroad”, itsnorthcarolina.com/places-to-go-in-north-carolina/great-smoky-mountains-railroad/ (updated ). By the It's North Carolina editorial team. Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page; data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.