This Week
53 events on our checked calendar in the next 7 days. Open the event finder.
It’s North CarolinaSearch
It's North Carolinaitsnorthcarolina.com

Print / Save As PDF

North Carolina events › Things to Do › Mountains-to-Sea Trail

The Mountains-to-Sea Trail is North Carolina’s long footpath from Kuwohi in the Great Smoky Mountains to Jockey’s Ridge on the Outer Banks: almost 1,200 miles by its own count, with about 720 miles of finished trail and the rest on connecting roads.

  • Length~1,200 miper the trail site
  • Finished Trail~720 miper the trail site
  • Segments18plus a paddle route
  • CheckedNov 22026

Facts at a Glance

DetailWhat the Official Source SaysWhere We Read It
RouteKuwohi in the Great Smoky Mountains to Jockey’s Ridge on the Outer BanksThe Trail
LengthAlmost 1,200 miles. The FAQ describes the current route as about 700 miles of trail and about 500 miles of connecting roadsThe Trail; FAQ
Footpath finishedAlmost 725 miles on one page and about 720 miles on the FAQ pageThe Trail; FAQ
Segments18, plus a paddle route on the Neuse RiverThe Trail
Counties crossedNot stated on the official pages we read, so we print no county count—
DifficultyNot stated on the official pages we read; the trail is not rated as a wholeThe Trail
SurfaceA simple footpath on natural surface or greenway, with back roads and bicycle paths where the trail is not finishedThe Trail; FAQ
MarkingA white circle blaze about three inches across; some wilderness and roadside sections are unblazedThe Trail; FAQ
Best monthsSpring and fallFAQ
CampingNo system of campsites and shelters like the Appalachian TrailFAQ
DogsWelcome most places, always on a leashFAQ
Permits$4.00 per person per night in Great Smoky Mountains National Park; free in the Linville Gorge; not required elsewhere on the trailFAQ

How Long Is It?

The Mountains-to-Sea Trail runs from Kuwohi in the Great Smoky Mountains to Jockey’s Ridge on the Outer Banks. Its own pages give the length as almost 1,200 miles. About 700 miles of that is trail and about 500 miles is connecting roads, so much of the finished route is a mix of footpath and quiet roads. The two official pages we read differ slightly on how much footpath is done (almost 725 miles on one, about 720 on the other), so treat it as roughly 720 miles.

The route is split into 18 numbered segments plus a paddle route on the Neuse River. The trail’s own site has a guide and map for each segment.

Difficulty, Surface and Best Months

The trail site does not give one difficulty rating, because the route runs from high mountains to coastal flats. It describes a simple footpath, with some unblazed stretches in wilderness areas and along roads, and back roads and bicycle paths standing in where the trail is not built yet. The FAQ says spring and fall have the best mix of cooler weather. Read the segment guide for the part you plan to walk.

Dogs, Camping and Permits

Dogs are welcome most places on a leash. There is no network of campsites and shelters, so plan where you will sleep. Great Smoky Mountains National Park needs a $4.00 per person per night permit, the Linville Gorge permit is free, and the FAQ says no other permits are needed on the trail. Fees and rules can change, so confirm them on the trail’s FAQ page before you go.

Places Near The Ends of The Trail

These pages on this site cover places the trail’s own pages name: Jockey’s Ridge State Park at the coastal end and Stone Mountain State Park, which the trail’s FAQ names when it describes the reopened section. For the High Country, see Mountains and the Blue Ridge; for the coast, see Beaches and the Coast.

What We Could Not Confirm

  • The number of counties the trail crosses. The pages we read do not state it, so we do not guess.
  • A difficulty rating for the trail as a whole.
  • Which segments are open today. Use the trail’s own recovery status table.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long is the Mountains-to-Sea Trail?

Almost 1,200 miles from Kuwohi to Jockey’s Ridge, according to the trail’s site. About 700 miles of that is trail and about 500 is connecting roads.

Can I hike the whole Mountains-to-Sea Trail?

Some of it is not finished, and two parts of Segment 4 are closed after Hurricane Helene, so the trail’s FAQ says those sections cannot be thru-hiked right now. Check its status table.

When is the best time to hike it?

The trail’s FAQ says spring and fall, for cooler weather.

Can I bring my dog?

Dogs are welcome most places on the trail, on a leash, according to the FAQ. Great Smoky Mountains National Park has its own rules, so check the park.

Do I need a permit?

$4.00 per person per night in Great Smoky Mountains National Park, free in the Linville Gorge, and none elsewhere on the trail, according to the FAQ.

Sources

  1. Mountains-to-Sea Trail: The Trail (Nov 2, 2026; page stamped July 6, 2026)
  2. Mountains-to-Sea Trail: Frequently Asked Questions (Nov 2, 2026; says closures stated as of March 2026)

Read on November 2, 2026. How we check: editorial standards; spot a mistake? Tell us.

Cite this page: It's North Carolina, “Mountains-to-Sea Trail”, itsnorthcarolina.com/things-to-do/mountains-to-sea-trail/ (updated ). By the It's North Carolina editorial team. Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page; data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.

Printed from itsnorthcarolina.com on . Hours, prices and dates can change, so check with the venue before you go.