This Week
53 events on our checked calendar in the next 7 days. Open the event finder.
It’s North CarolinaSearch
It's North Carolinaitsnorthcarolina.com

Print / Save As PDF

North Carolina events › Asheville and Foothills Events › Winter Lights at the NC Arboretum

Winter Lights at the North Carolina Arboretum runs Nov 13, 2026 to Jan 3, 2027. Gates open at 6 p.m., final entry is 9 p.m. and the event closes at 10 p.m. Tickets are priced per vehicle, not per person, in Value, Standard and Peak tiers.

  • DatesNov 13 to Jan 32026 to 2027
  • Gates6 to 10 p.m.last entry 9 p.m.
  • PricedPer vehiclethree tiers
  • CheckedNov 22026

Facts at a Glance

DetailWhat the Organizer Says
DatesNov 13, 2026 to Jan 3, 2027
HoursGates open 6 p.m.; final entry 9 p.m.; closes 10 p.m. Daytime guests must leave by 5 p.m.
Place20 Frederick Law Olmsted Way, Asheville, NC 28806; walk-through show, no shuttles or trams
ShowMore than one million lights, about a 1-mile trail, live music, cocoa and s’mores; allow at least one full hour
PricingPer vehicle in Value, Standard and Peak tiers, by demand. Personal-vehicle dollar prices are in a calendar image we could not read as text.
Larger vehicles, online9 to 14 seats: $85 Value, $110 Standard, $135 Peak. Buses with 15 or more seats: $400, $500, $600 (call 828-412-8570).
FeesTaxes and fees are added at checkout. Gate tickets cost $10 to $15 more; gate sales run 7 to 9 p.m. if space allows.
MembersArboretum Society members: $5 off advance tickets with an emailed promo code, and free parking
PetsNot permitted; service dogs under the ADA are welcome
ChildrenUnder 16 must be with an adult for the whole visit; no drop-off
WeatherRain or shine. Closures are announced by 3 p.m. on the website and Facebook and all tickets for that night are refunded.
Strollers and wagonsNot stated
Parking feeStandard parking fees apply; amount not stated

Tickets, Refunds and Changes

The Arboretum recommends buying ahead online, and says dates can sell out. Advance tickets are also sold at the Baker Front Desk from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. starting Nov 1 (no cash), and advance sales for each date end at 5 p.m. that night. Tickets are non-refundable unless the Arboretum cancels. Rescheduling goes through Eventbrite before the ticket date, and a $15 change fee may apply. The Pink, Blue and Gold colors on the pricing calendar mean Value, Standard and Peak.

Getting in and Getting Around

  • Only motorized vehicles may enter (cars, trucks, limos, buses, vans, motorcycles). Walkers and cyclists cannot.
  • Rideshare riders need a valid Personal Vehicle ticket, and rideshare vehicles may enter until 9 p.m. for pickup.
  • A premium Winter Lights Trolley runs with Biltmore Park Town Square and Gray Line Trolley Tours; tickets are per person and the price is not stated.
  • Accessible parking is available. WheelchairsBring your own; a limited number can be borrowed first come, first served.
  • Outside alcohol is prohibited at all times, including the parking lot and trails. Bicycles, skates and scooters are not permitted in the displays.

Food and Entertainment

The Arbor Eatery in the Education Center serves food, hot cocoa, alcoholic drinks and s’more kits. Two Cocoa Shack locations in the gardens sell cocoa, alcoholic drinks and treats. Restrooms are at the Baker Visitor Center, the Education Center and portable units.

What We Could Not Confirm

  • Personal-vehicle ticket prices and which dates fall in each tier: shown only in an image.
  • Whether strollers and wagons are allowedNot stated.
  • The standard parking fee amount and the trolley price: not stated.
  • The ticket page’s corporate-group note says invoices come in “early January 2026,” which looks like a typo for 2027. We have not used it.

Frequently Asked Questions

When is Winter Lights at the NC Arboretum in 2026?

Nov 13, 2026 to Jan 3, 2027. Gates open at 6 p.m., final entry is 9 p.m. and the event closes at 10 p.m.

How much is Winter Lights?

Tickets are priced per vehicle, not per person, in Value, Standard and Peak tiers. The personal-vehicle prices are in a calendar image on the ticket page. Vans seating 9 to 14 cost $85, $110 or $135 online; buses cost $400, $500 or $600.

Can I walk in or bike?

No. Only motorized vehicles may enter and there is no walk-in entry.

Are pets allowed?

No. Service dogs under the ADA are welcome.

What happens in bad weather?

It runs rain or shine unless the Arboretum closes for a weather emergency. Closures are announced by 3 p.m. and all tickets for that night are refunded.

Can I buy tickets at the gate?

Sometimes. Gate sales run 7 to 9 p.m. if space allows, cost $10 to $15 more, and visitors may be turned away.

Sources

  1. NC Arboretum: Winter Lights (2026-11-02)
  2. NC Arboretum: Winter Lights FAQ (2026-11-02)
  3. NC Arboretum: Winter Lights ticket information (2026-11-02)

Read on November 2, 2026. Anything marked as not stated or not confirmed is not on the organizer pages we read; check with the organizer before you go. How we check: editorial standards; spot a mistake? Tell us.

Cite this page: It's North Carolina, “Winter Lights at The NC Arboretum”, itsnorthcarolina.com/winter-lights-nc-arboretum-asheville/ (updated ). By the It's North Carolina editorial team. Free to quote with attribution and a link to this page; data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.

Printed from itsnorthcarolina.com on . Hours, prices and dates can change, so check with the venue before you go.